Naturally Beautiful
Comments 5

Sauna Time

It’s so difficult to get back on track after a lovely holiday back home. I had a great time relaxing with friends and family, seeing new things and sticking to the old traditional bits like having fun in the sauna with the family. Sauna is a must when I go home. It’s such an amazing thing. Ok, I admit, we don’t just drink green tea and pretend to have the healthiest time of our lives… But everyone is always looking forward to my natural and healthy home made treats.

In my home town, Kretinga, there is a little shop which sells a small range of natural skin care products. So I got a few natural scented candles and a lovely mixture, made in Lithuania, which combined with honey, helps stimulate the sweat. It was something I’ve never tried before. What a brilliant idea! Honey gets deep into the skin helping to clean it while the combination of Wingleaf Prickly Ash, Grapefruit, Juniper and Checkerberry essential oils encourages you to sweat out all that grim and toxins.

Here is the way I like to relax and detox in the sauna.

sauna time

  • To start with, go into the sauna to warm your body up for about 10-15 minutes. Don’t go to the shower or swimming pool straight after this. Better let your body cool down naturally. Wrap up in a big towel, sit down comfortably and have a cup of your favourite tea.
  • For the second visit to the hot room, have some honey handy. If the honey is set, take it with you to the sauna and wait until it melts a little bit. Rub the honey into your skin and sit in the sauna as much as you like. Let the honey do the job. After you’re done sweating, go to the shower to wash off the honey and then have some fun in the swimming pool.
  • For the third visit to the sauna,  combine a few spoons of honey with the lovely sweat stimulating mixture. Only a few drops needed. Apply it to the skin and sit in the sauna for another 15-20 minutes. We had lots of fun sitting slightly sticky in the sauna. And again, shower/swimming pool.

We repeated the procedure a few more times and then had some lovely food and drinks.

While everyone else was chatting, I was busy making fresh strawberry and salt body scrub. I was so excited that everyone was up for it. I used the simplest ingredients: fresh crushed strawberries, salt and Olive oil. You might want to sieve the strawberries so that you don’t have bits of them clogging the shower drain. Just mix all the ingredients together and enjoy the fresh strawberry aroma. I find it most beneficial to use body scrubs after I am done with the sauna, when the skin is soft and ready to be rid of dead skin cells.

I was extremely excited to find some Russian Blue and Dead Sea Black clays in my mums cupboard. Blue Clay is a wonderful natural skin care treat, full of minerals and silver ions. The clay helps purify the skin, reduce pore size & promote cellular regeneration as well as skin rejuvenation.

CLAY MASKS

I made a very simple cleansing face mask from Blue clay, thick cream and Lithuanian organic honey. Lovely treat in the sauna. Apply to your face and neck for 10 minutes.

For the body I used Dead Sea Black Clay. Another beautiful clay containing magnesium, calcium and potassium. It’s beneficial for the relief of various skin problems. Just warm up some water, mix with the clay until you form a creamy paste. Apply to your whole body. Wash it off after 10 minutes.

Another great thing to do in sauna is to treat your hair. Just apply a little bit of oil to your locks and leave it in while enjoying the heat. The oil in your hair will warm up and become a perfect nourishing hair mask. My mum and I used Avocado oil with a drop of Rosemary essential oil.

Later, halfway through, we also applied  a dollop of natural honey for conditioning properties. Shampoo your hair as usual after all the fun in the sauna.

Allow yourselves a little bit of rest time before leaving the sauna. Make a lovely drink, put your feet up and relax.

5 Comments

  1. Gosh….I feel so relaxed after viewing your photos and reading the captions. I could take a nap……..

  2. Sweet dreams 🙂 I love sauna! It’s such a great place to hang out with family and friends, especially on cold and rainy days 🙂 I’m missing it already 🙂

  3. Wow! Your sauna experience sounds so relaxing and healthy. I love all of the skin treatments you put together as well. They sound wonderful. Hope you had a fantastic visit at home.

  4. WordsFallFromMyEyes says

    Ha ha this is wonderful how you painted up your gang.

    Oh my gosh, what a heavenly heavenly set up. You’re living my dream, with a sauna and tub so handy. Awesome.

    • I was very happy they were up for it 🙂 And they were very excited about me covering them in mud :)I love going home and treating my family with this kind of natural goodness 🙂 I absolutely love saunas, we always have so much fun there 🙂

Leave a Reply

