Naturally Beautiful
Comments 7

Homemade coconut & grapefruit deodorant

Finally I got around to making my own deodorant! It’s been a while since I wanted to try a homemade one and it’s so incredibly easy to make!

I used raw organic coconut oil and that’s why my deodorant has a solid consistency. I love raw coconut oil, it has such a lovely flavour and creamy texture. The ingredients you need:

1/4 cup baking soda

1/4 cup cornstarch

5 tbsp coconut oil

5 drops essential oil (optional)

Yes, that’s all you need! It’s incredible that you can make something as essential in your life as deodorant from a few simple ingredients! The amount I made will last me forever!

COCONUT

In a bowl, mix everything well until you get a smooth paste and add the essential oil(s), if using. I used 5 drops of Grapefruit essential oil and it smells gorgeous!

Store it in a glass jar. Coconut oil tends to melt in higher and solidify in lower temperatures, so a glass container is the best if the deodorant is not stored in the fridge.

If you use fractionated coconut oil, I guess you can store the mixture in a special deodorant container. I store it in my bathroom cabinet with my other hand made goodies. Next time I’ll try to make it runnier just for the sake of experimenting.

7 Comments

  1. I’ve been wanting to make my own deodorant for a while too! Once again, you’ve inspired me to get off my butt and give it a try! This recipe looks so easy!

    • Alia, it is extremely easy to make! Definitely have a go, it’s the best thing I’ve ever made 🙂 works perfectly and keeps you dry and fresh all day 🙂

  2. Sanchita says

    I was a bit curious, how is it supposed to be applied?

    • Hi Sanchita, I just use my fingertips to scoop out a little bit of the deodorant and then rub it into the skin 🙂 You can try storing it in a special swivel up stick container for solid deodorants :)I am planning to store it in such a container my next creation 🙂

  3. Mac says

    Be aware to test this on your skin as many people use this baking soda based recipe and then find out not too lg after that they are in pain and have rashes from the heavy baking soda content. There are ways to modify the deodorant by substituting it with less baking soda and more cornstarch/arrow root powder or with bentonite or kaolin clay.

  4. Pingback: Try Coconut And Grapefruit For The Skin And Hair | Blackle Mag

Leave a Reply

