Naturally Beautiful
Comments 8

Soothing banana and clay face mask

You all know I swear by clay every now and again. Every Saturday is a clay day and so far I haven’t come across anything better (just yet)! I usually stick to my favourite combination that involves double cream and honey, especially in winter, when the skin needs lots of TLC.

As you also know I am from the Baltics, where winters are very harsh, much colder than here in the UK and so I was chatting to my friend the other day, who recently moved back home. She said that it was so cold and windy one morning that her cheeks gone frozen! I was back home over Christmas, and I do remember how it feels! Next day the report came in from the frozen land, that she used banana face mask to soothe her irritated skin and it has been hugely helpful. 

Rumour has it that banana peel is a great remedy for irritated, itchy and tired skin. All you need to do is rub the peel against your skin and it works!

Bananas are rich in potassium, as you probably already know, they are also a good source of iron, zinc, magnesium, Vitamins A, B and E, a perfect anti ageing combination!

And so I thought I’ll wait no longer and sacrifice a slice of my breakfast banana for my face mask.

BANANA MASK

Ingredients:

 A few slices of ripe banana, the riper the better.

1tsp Kaolin – White China Clay (suitable for all skin types).

1tsp Red Argiletz Clay (improves the condition of dry, sensitive and irritated skin).

1stp honey

Method: mush the banana with a fork. This is why the banana should be very ripe. I tried a semi ripe once and believe me, it didn’t go well! Add the clays. Fold in the honey. Apply the mask to your face for no longer than 10 minutes before rinsing. Very Soothing!

Let me know if you’ve tried the mask in the comments below. Or maybe you have a different recipe? Share it, I’d love to hear it! 

8 Comments

    • It’s clay’s natural colour hence ‘red clay’ 🙂 but you are right, it might give you a litte bit of glow, that’s why it’s good to mix it with white clay, just in case 🙂

  1. Must Have Boxes says

    I be that mask smells soooo amazing :).

    – KW
    musthaveboxes.com

  2. That sounds wonderful, even without clay, I will try the banana peel. thank you for sharing. Have you heard, I am sure you did, about a pineapple mask, since it has so much Vitamin D, which apparently our skin is lacking @ times, I have tried it yesterday. Just rubbing some slices of Pineapple over my facial skin, it felt good afterwards, soft and firm.

    • I need to try it too 🙂 I haven’t tried the pineapple, but it sounds amazing 🙂 Vitamin D is what we are desperately lacking here in the UK 🙂

Leave a Reply

