Naturally Beautiful
Comments 4

Mum to be: avocado body butter

So here goes another recipe. A lovely and rich body butter for mums to be. I chose avocado oil as my main ingredient for this healing balm. It is a mild, nourishing, semi-fatty oil, rich in vitamins and fatty acids. It is used when the skin is dry or damaged.

I have also used a different butter making method where I added avocado oil without heating it. The purpose of this was that I didn’t want to heat up this vitamin rich oil so I could preserve its nutrients. Since this body butter is for a pregnant lady,  I wanted to make it the best it can be!

mumtobebutter

You can add up to 50% of the overall vegetable oil content to your balm when the wax has melted. This actually saves lots of work and time heating and cooling the oils.

23g olive wax

 20g coconut oil

55 avocado oil

2g vitamin E

Melt the olive wax and coconut oil together in a double boiler. When the olive wax is melted, remove the ingredients from the double boiler. Without waiting for the mixture to cool down, add avocado oil. Whisk the butter. When it cools down to about 40C, add vitamin E.

Pour the mixture into a pot and let it set. This recipe makes 100g of body butter and should last for a while. It’s 100% natural, soft and rich so will keep your skin smooth and healthy during pregnancy, and after!

4 Comments

  1. lois says

    Thanks for the wonderful recipe. looking to make it also. if i may sk, where can i get the holder you used in the piture to hold the pot over the boiling water, its always hard for me doing a bain marie as i always have to use a cloth. whats it called and here can i purchase one. it will be of good help. thanks

  2. Hi Lois and thanks, I hope you like it 🙂 You can use oils of your choice. I know what you mean, I used to use a cloth when I started experimenting, but it’s just too hard and dangerous fiddling with hot pots and oils 🙂 I purchased it here http://www.aromantic.co.uk/buy-tongs-plastic-uk.htm. They are cold Plastic Tong/Pliers for handling hot beakers. I didn’t see them on Amazon, but I am sure that brands that sell beauty supplies, sell these as well 🙂

  3. Ooooh, this sounds wonderfully moisturizing!! I’m so glad to see you’ve kept on with your skincare products!

    • Still trying to keep it up 🙂 Not as often as I’d like to though 🙂 Welcome back to the wordpress world! 🙂

Leave a Reply

