Health and Wellbeing
Comments 14

Homemade remedies to fight the cold

The germs have finally found me! I was feeling edgy for some time, but managed to escape being ill… until now. On Thursday I came back home shivering from cold with a horrible sore throat and headache. Not a nice thing at all! I am not a fan of taking pills and strong antibiotics, I always leave it for the last minute, if my body is too weak to fight the germs.

When I was a kid, my mum used to heal me with natural remedies, such as garlic, onion, hot milk and honey and it was never nice, but it would do a good job. She would always have a good spoon of some strong homemade remedy and a spoonful of thick and extremely sweet rosehip syrup to offset the bitterness of the remedy. I still remember that overpowering taste.

Whenever I start feeling ill, I always remember all these yucky tasting tinctures and make them myself, because I know they do make me feel better! Although, I make sure I have a bar of nice milk chocolate handy.

Here are a few remedies that make me feel better, they are natural and safe to use when getting a cold, but if you feel that the illness is progressing, better see a doctor.

homemade

Garlic milk:

A cup of warm milk

1 heaped spoon of honey

1-2 garlic cloves

Peal and crush the garlic. In a saucepan, heat the milk and pour it into a nice mug, add the honey, mix well and drink while warm. It’s not the most pleasant drink because the bits of garlic are floating around. Some people might find it difficult to drink this mixture, but this is the most powerful antibiotic you can find! Drink the mixture 2-3 times a day.

Lemon Syrup:

2-3 fresh lemons

1 spoon of honey

1 clove of garlic

Mix the lemon juice and crushed garlic with honey. Pour the remedy into a jar and leave to stand for 24 hours. Drink a tea spoon of the syrup every night before bed. The remedy will help to fight the cold!

Honey and Pepper Remedy:

If you happened to be very ill and used antibiotics for a long time, use this remedy to strengthen your immune system.

3 tbs of honey

1 tbs freshly ground black pepper.

In a bowl, mix the ingredients. Use a teaspoon of the remedy in the morning and evening, 15 minutes before meal.

Hot Toddy  

Charlie is making this drink for me tonight. It’s suppose to be very good. I heard from my work colleague that this remedy is very powerful.

2 tablespoons of whiskey/brandy

1 cup of hot water

2-3 cloves

1/4 of a lemon

a bag of black tea

Put the ingredients into a mug, top up with hot water and drink before bed. I am glad this doesn’t involve any garlic!

14 Comments

  1. Sorry that you’re ill 😦 Hope you feel better soon. I haven’t been bitten by the bug yet, though will refer to this post should it happen. I hope the milk chocolate is Cadbury’s! PS I am kind of addicted to the parsley tea. I am drinking it near-daily! Thank you for that tip!

    • I am feeling much better now 🙂 Only a little bit of sore throat 🙂 Maybe I needed some rest 🙂 And it is Cadbury’s milk chocolate indeed – my favourite 😀 nice and milky 😉

      I am glad you like the parsley tea, I will start drinking it again too, I really liked that refreshing sensation 🙂

  2. Oh, dearest, I hope and wish you get well soon. Your remedy seems so good, mothers always know what is good. Thank you dear Kristina, for this remedy. Take care, stay in warm, and yes, drinkg sage tea too! With my love, nia

    • Thank you Nia, Charlie is looking after me and I am feeling better now 🙂 Should be good by Monday 🙂 I am having a skype chat with my mum on Sunday so need to be up and healthy, otherwise she will be worrying too much 🙂 Sage tea sounds interesting, thank you! 🙂

      • Yes, mothers always being worrying too much 🙂 I am one of them and my son he is not here you know, I always think of him. I am glad you feel better, but Charlie seems so nice too. I am drinking now sage tea… 🙂 Have a nice day tomorrow, with my love, nia

  3. I should try this out. I just got better from the flu, and now my boyfriend is sick. And he’s not a fan of the doctor and medicines either. So it looks like I should buy some honey and onions and stuff today!

  4. I hope you are going to feel well soon, there’s nothing like natural remedies to cure ailments as opposed to western medicines with chemicals etc 🙂

    • I agree, but I guess it’s difficult these days not to use these chemicals… 🙂 But then at least we can do something natural to recover after using them 🙂

  5. This remedy actually doesn’t sound too bad! I’ll give it a try when I start feeling icky (which I might pretty soon, most of my little ones at school have bad coughs at the moment!). You are certainly your mother’s daughter. 🙂 I love learning all these natural tidbits from your blog!

    • Oh no, I hope you are not getting ill! I am better, but still have this horrible cough, but I am glad my sore throat is gone, it was very unpleasant! Have a soak in a salty bath with some eucalyptus, that should help!

Leave a Reply

