Magic Castor Oil

My friend sent me a text some time ago ‘OMFG that oil you gave me is a miracle! I kept it on for 10 minutes and OMG!’ That text made my day! My friends back home have also been saying that my skin is glowing and it really is thanks to the magic Castor Oil!

I have been using Castor Oil long enough to be confident in saying that you definitely do not need any other face cleansing products than oil. It’s quick and gets deep into pores to get all that grim out.  All you need to do is massage a little bit of the oil into your skin in the evening, keep it on for at least 30 seconds and wipe it of with a hot cloth. That’s it and believe me, the results are great. The skin feels nice and smooth, just apply a drop of oil or your favourite natural moisturiser after the procedure and off to bed! You will wake up to a beautiful and healthy skin! Just remember not to mix up the routine. Try not to use any other store-bought face cleansers when using the oil cleansing method, you will only confuse your skin.

It is a very sticky oil and the skin absorbs it very slowly, therefore it’s a brilliant massage oil. Only a little amount is required. It’s and excellent ingredient in any cleansing products as it draws dirt to itself. Also makes lips and hair shiny so it’s a great addition to lip balms, hair masks. It is a stable oil which does not easily go rancid. Keeps for 3-4 years.

The cleansing oil I am using at moment contains 50ml Castor Oil + 50ml Rosehip Seed Oil + 1ml Tea Tree Essential Oil. But you can mix it with other oils like Peach Kernell Oil, Jojoba Oil, Olive Oil. Add a little bit of Vitamin E for even more luxurious mix. Or you can simply use Castor Oil on its own. I’ve heard people saying that their skin breaks out after using this cleansing method, but I’ve also read that it happens because the skin is getting used to the new routine and it should pass. I personally haven’t experienced breakouts.

Oil (Olive, Sweet Almond) is also a perfect make up remover! It removes even waterproof mascara. I stopped using make up removers years ago when my eyelids got badly damaged by Loreal makeup wipes. My eyelids were so dried out, sore and even started to crack, I do not wish this on anyone! After I got them sorted, I only used simple oil to remove mascara and I noticed that my eyelashes got healthier and looked pretty and shiny without mascara.

23 thoughts on “Magic Castor Oil

  1. This does sound wonderful. My skin does break out when I’ve used other oil treatments, but maybe it would pass quickly.

    • You can try using castor oil, better diluted with something like calendula oil as it soothes skin, but if your skin breaks out, better stop using it and look for other solution.

  2. Hi K, this sounds great. So I can use this as a cleanser, and then put some oil in my Night moisturiser too? Or should moisturiser have no oil in it? I started using Apple Cider Vinegar and my skin broke out… but has since calmed down. Would you suggest Castor Oil, then tone with Vinegar, then moisturiser?? THANKS!!

    • Hi Marina, I haven’t tried mixing moisturiser with oil really… Better apply pure oil on your skin before going to bed, unless your skin breaks out from oils. You can try using castor oil as cleanser, I have used it now for a long time and it works well for me, I do not buy cleansers anymore just muslin cloths :) I think your skin is very sensitive, maybe apply cider vinegar is too harsh for you so I would suggest to leave it out. Try Castor oil to cleanse your face and then moisturise with cream or oil. See how your skin likes it. You can use only Castor oil, but because of your sensitive skin, I would suggest diluting it with something calming. Maybe oils like Jojoba or walnut. These are good for sensitive skin. Olive oil is perfect for face cleansing :)

  3. K, i finally bought some castor oil so will mix with jojoba and grapeseed oil – do you think these in equal parts is a good idea? 1 part jojoba, 1 part castor, 1 part grapeseed w/ some tea tree oil. I have Vitamin E oil for afterwards if needed… Let me know your thoughts! Thanks!

    • Sounds like a good mix to me Marina, let me know how you get on :) I usually add more castor oil, but your skin is very sensitive so your combination is a good starting point :) I hope it works for you, I am happy with it, works wonders on my skin :)

  4. Hi Kristina.
    I started using the oil cleansing method about 1 month ago. The mix I used 30% castor oil with 70% olive oil. Skin was looking so clean and clear instantly for the first week then suddenly broke it all over my face. I continued using it for another few days but I couldn’t handle the break outs. I left it for a few weeks tried to get rid of the acne with prescription cream but it just wasn’t going anywhere. So I thought I’ll give oil cleansing method one more go. This time I mixed 70% castor oil and 30% sweet almond oil with a few drops of tea tree. And I woke up the following morning with little white head pimples all over my chin. I’ve never had this before and not sure weather to give ocm up all together. (I have oily acne prone skin) I would love to hear your thoughts. Thank you

    • Hi Yasmine, thanks for your comment and really sorry to heat about your bad experience. Some people tend to have breakouts after using this cleansing method. Castor oil is quite viscous and fat and I think that maybe combined with Olive oil it was too heavy for your skin. A very high quality Olive oil should be used as most of Olive oils from supermarkets are not good enough for using in skincare. Buy the oil only from trusted sources.

      Maybe try reducing Castor oil? In your case you should use a very small amount of Castor oil or maybe even try excluding the oil and just use a combination of light oils like Grapeseed, Jojoba, Coconut oils? Try adding tea tree essential oil or lavender oil. Just a few drops. Both are bactericidal. Also oil of Geranium can be used to balance the secretion of sebum.

      Make sure you use clean muslin cloth each time and pat dry your skin with a clean towel.

      If you feel very uncomfortable with ocm, I think you shouldn’t use it or at least consult with your dermatologist.

      You can try cucumber juice to calm your skin down. Instead of ocm try clay based masks once a week, Kaolin – White China clay works well for all skin types, it soothes and softens the skin. Clays are non irritating and help improve overall heath of the skin.

      Because your skin is acne prone, make sure you get enough zinc into your system, it often helps acne sufferers by stimulating healthy new cells and also try a detox diet to clean your bloodstream.

      Hope that helps!

  5. Hi, my skin very dry and sensitive. I tried put castor oil on face but found difficult to wash off …and Not really sure how can use as cleanser? Please let me know?thanks

    • Hi Lau, castor oil on its own might be a bit too heavy for your dry skin. Try mixing it with lighter oils such as coconut oil or sweet almond oil. The easiest way to remove the castor is to use muslin cloth. Wet the cloth with hot water (not boiling!), squeeze the access water out, press the cloth to your face and gently wipe the oil off. Continue for a few times if needed. Apply moisturiser. This method is easy and effective.

  6. so i started this last night castor oil with jojoba oil so just to make sure once i start doing this i will not need my face washes or exfoliatetors?? and how often per day can i do this , i did castor and jojoba oil rubbed in face a few mins put hot cloth on face removed oil then put on jojoba oil on face as a cream cause my gace felt kind of dry does this seem a good way to do this? i have lots of blackheads and tried everything i dont really see any difference but im sure its because its only my first time

    • Hi Sandy. I use this as a cleanser and it is enough to keep my skin clean, however I still exfoliate my skin twice a week. Exfoliating will help you to get rid of the blackheads. Also keep the oil on your skin for 5-10 minutes before washing it off and massage it in for a few minutes, that will help you dissolve the blackheads.
      Use it just once a day, in the evening, before bed, to make sure that all the dirt and grim is drawn out from your skin. In the morning, just splash your face with warm and then cold water and apply moisturiser. If you cleaned your face well in the evening, you don’t necessarily have to wash it in the morning, unless your skin is very oily, then just use natural tonic. Your skin restores while sleeping and produces natural sebum to protect it, so don’t wash it off. Yes, skin might feel dry after using castor oil and moisturising your skin with jojoba oil afterwards seems like a good idea! I use Argan or Coconut oil afterwards.

    • Hi Carole, I don’t use this oil to prevent wrinkles; I use it more like a cleaner or in my lip balms, but believe it can help prevent wrinkles. Try applying it to your under-eyes :)

  7. Hi Kristina..Recently I have been using castor oil to heal acne scars. After trying many treatments, fractional laser being one of them, I thought I’d give castor oil a shot. I’ve been using it for 3 days now and the results I have seen up till now are better than any treatment/ cream/ surgery I’ve undergone. Good bye doctors, hello natural remedies!

    • Hey Sarah, I am so glad to hear it’s helping you! Try adding some Argan oil to your mixture; it will nourish your skin even more. Argan oil is quite expensive, but a little goes a long way :) Also rosehip oil is very helpful with scarring. Good luck with your natural remedies :)

  8. Dear K,
    I mixed some caster oil with olive oil a few months back and didnt use it for a while. I put it in a cupboard. Used it today and had a faint smell so I was wondering if it keeps well, or should I just throw the whole bottle out?

    • Hi Loretta. If the oils are good quality, they usually keep well and don’t go rancid for a while. Sometimes oils have specific scnet, for example avocado oil has a very specific smell, but it evaporates once it sinks into your skin. If you don’t feel comfortable using the mixture, just make a new one. I’d suggest something lighter than olive oil as it might lead to breakouts. I recently started mixing castor oil with avocado oil, it works for me, but for lighter option you might want to try sweet almond oil or jojoba oil. Try avoiding coconut oil as it might lead to breakouts too.

      • I hav a very fair dry skin. I would like to use castor oil on face. I just hope it will do a miracle.

Leave a Reply

