The Sea, The Sun and a Velvety Chocolate Face Mask

Tomorrow I am flying back home for a well deserved holiday, I can’t wait to meet everyone and just enjoy the rest of the summer.

I thought I could add a little bit of that holiday glow to my face so I made something very… edible… It smells lovely and if I had some cherries or strawberries, I would dip them right into the face mask!

Cocoa powder mixed with double cream and honey is very moisturising and will give your skin a healthy glow. Cocoa powder contains fatty acids that are extremely beneficial to our skin, those acids are responsible for leaving our skin soft and nourished. It is also a great antioxidant and fights free radicals. So I could happily say that a chocolate face mask keeps our skin younger! Cocoa powder is also rich in essential minerals, zinc being one of them. Zinc is great for our sin, keeps it spot – free.

Velvety Chocolate Face Mask

2 tsp cocoa powder

1-2 tsp honey

1-2 tsp double cream

You can add some dried/fresh ground rose petals or oatmeal for exfoliating properties.

 I used the ‘Green & Black’s’ organic cocoa made with the finest organic fairtrade cocoa beans, but you don’t have to (I just love their chocolates). Any kind of cocoa will do a good job!

Add the honey…

mix it well…

 fold in the double cream…

mix gently until you form a lovely chocolatey paste.

Now add rose petals or oatmeal, if using. Apply the mask on to your clean face, relax and  indulge for 15-20 minutes. Rinse it off with warm water, or even better, clean it off with a damp cotton pad.

 Have a great August and… see you all in September!

15 thoughts on “The Sea, The Sun and a Velvety Chocolate Face Mask

  1. Thanks for the recipe, Kristina! I tried this today and I loved it! I used cocoa powder, some Manuka honey, a bit of coconut milk and some ground up oatmeal. My skin feels so soft after the mask and it smelled delicious! It was a great Sunday treat. Enjoy your vacation!

  2. Hi Kristina! I hope you having a great vacation!

    I was nominated for a Sunshine Award a couple of days ago. Now that I’ve been nominated, I also get to nominate 10 more of my favorite blogs. As you know, I love reading your posts and learning from you, so I nominated you! You can check it all out at http://wp.me/p1BAZi-jE. Congratulations!

  3. Pingback: Make Your Own Face Mask « Au Naturel Essence

Leave a Reply

