Lavender Water

I am not a big fan of lavender, but if you have a bunch of blue plants growing in your neighbour’s garden… why not make them useful? After gaining permission from my lovely neighbour I lurked myself into the blue sea of lavender. I could tolerate them because the flowers didn’t smell as strong as essential oil of lavender does.  After picking a few (nicest) plants, I transformed them into a face tonic.

Lavender is widely used in skin care, especially in natural products, but somehow, for me, it just doesn’t work… the smell irritates me more than anything!  I admit , I avoid skin care products with this plant and as much as natural they are, I am simply not interested.  Once I received a present, Liz Earle shower gel… with lavender… ohh, I didn’t enjoy my showers as much anymore… I don’t remember using up a shower gel as quickly as I used the lavender one…

However, I recognise the benefits of this plant to our skin. It is antimicrobial, helps healing wounds, calms and soothes the skin, a useful remedy for burns, soothes bees stings, combats blemishes, prevents skin cancer,  is an excellent antioxidant plus regular use of lavender can delay ageing.  Lavender is one of the most active essential oils against MRSA. All this sounds great, however skin allergies to lavender oil happen occasionally, just like to any other essential oils since most of them contain sensitisers such linalool and linalyl acetate, components naturally occurring in essential oils.

For those who love lavender, here is a DIY recipe of home made Lavender Water, which I used as a face tonic.

a handful of fresh lavender

100ml boiling water

In a bowl, place the lavender buds and drown them in hot water.

Cover the bowl or any other pot and leave the brew to steep for a few hours.

I left it until it got cold.

Drain the mixture, pour the Lavender Water into a bottle and place it into the fridge. You can add a little bit of alcohol such a pure vodka into this water to preserve and prolong the shelf life of the product, but I left it as it is. Alcohol tends to dry out the skin and I don’t like it.

After washing your face in the morning, spray a little bit of Lavender Water on a cosmetic cotton pad and gently wipe your face. The cool water will instantly refresh your skin. Remove the access water with a dry cotton pad so that it doesn’t prevent your day cream successfully soaking into your lovely skin.

 Use the tonic within 2 weeks and always keep it in the refrigerator.

19 thoughts on “Lavender Water

  1. I love lavender water – it smells much nice than shop-bought lavender tonic. This looks very similar to the recipe my grandmother used to make when I was a child and which inspired me to take up aromatherapy!

    • So true Emma :) I quite liked my water considering that I don’t really enjoy Lavender smell :) It’s so nice to be inspired by someone; I bet your grandmother has many great home made remedy secrets :)

  2. Hi K! Lovely post. I am not a fan of lavender either but can imagine that a faint scent would not bother me… it might even be relaxing. Lucky that your neighbour has this pretty plant decorating the garden :)

    • Thanks Marina :) I was surprised how mild the scent of this lavender water was and I really enjoyed it in the mornings :) Camomile water next :)

  3. Hi Kristina, how is your aromatherapy course going? The mother of a good friend of mine works for NYROrganic (all lovely, lovely people) and is looking for like-minded people with a passion for natural health and beauty to join her team. I thought of you, so if you’re interested I could put you in touch?

    • Hi Emma, sorry for such a late reply, I only noticed it now! I did an intensive one week skin care course, it wasn’t much about aromatherapy… but NYROrganic sounds lovely, I’d love to know more about it. I am off back home tomorrow and will be back in London in September :) If they will still be looking for people I’d love to have a go :) Have a lovely August!

      • Hi Kristina, That’s great. My friend at NYR says that she will call you if you are interested as they are looking for people who are passionate about natural products. So if you are happy to speak to her about joining Neal’s Yard and getting involved, email your number to me and I’ll get her to give you a call: tennant.emma@gmail.com

        Have a lovely holiday! :)

  4. I am a big fan of lavender! Just recently got some beautiful fresh lavender from my friend’s garden and what’s better than lavender water? Thanks for sharing!

  5. Ooh, I’m bookmarking this! I LOVE the smell of lavender. I’m currently using a natural lavender soap, and some lavender water/cologne. It’s nice to know how to make it at home though!

  6. Pingback: On The Way Home

  7. i have just made some after reading your recipe.i have a large lavender plant in my garden.its good to know it isnt just a pretty plant.thanks

Leave a Reply

