Like to Like: Home-made Oil Cleanser

I’ve been using my home-made oil cleanser for a while and, I think, it works well keeping my skin clean and healthy.

Oil cleansers are great, because oils have ability to soak deep into skin dissolving all the dead skin that has become hard and therefore caused clogged pores. This causes skin impurities, bacteria growth and spots.

If you have oily skin, don’t think that applying oil cleanser will make it even oiler! Opposite, it will help to balance skin and give it a fresh and healthy glow.

Our skin produces sebum that protects the skin and helps prevent dryness. Natural oils and sebum are very alike and that’s why oily cleansers work well in clearing bacteria and the build up of dead skin cells.

Home-made Oil Cleanser

I combined:

My Combination

20g Cherry Kernel Oil

22g Calendula Oil

8g Kukui Nut Oil

5 drops Ho Wood Essential Oil (optional)

5 drops Frankincense Essential Oil (optional)

1x muslin cloth.

In a beaker, I measured the oils

Measuring Oils

and then finished with the essential oils.

Finish your lovely cleanser with lovely Essential Oils

I then poured the mixture into an amber glass bottle ( mixtures and potions will stay fresh longer if kept in a glass container). Here you go, the cleanser is ready.

Lovely Oil Cleanser

I don’t use it every day, only when I feel that my skin needs a boost.  I like warming  my home-made oil in between my palms and then massaging it gently in to my skin. I also like leaving the oil on my skin for a few minutes, so it soaks in and softens my skin, before removing it with a muslin cloth. Just run a hot tap and rinse the cloth under hot (hand bearable) water, squeeze all the access water out and gently clean the oil off your face. As well as cleans, the muslin cloth exfoliates your skin. I love applying pure Shea butter on my face after this treatment and let it soak into my clean skin overnight.

You can combine your own oil cleanser. Here are some recommendations for different skin types:

Dry Skin: Rosehip, Sesame, Sunflower, Sweet Almond, Walnut, Wheatgerm, Hemp seed, Jojoba, Kukui Nut, Macadamia Nut, Moringa, Olive, Peach Kernel, Pumpkin Seed, Apricot Kernel, Argan, Avocado, Borage, Calendula, Castor, Coconut, Evening Primrose.

Oily Skin: Babbasu, Calendula, Chery Kernel, Grape Seed, Hazelnut, Melon Seed, Walnut.

Mature Skin: Rice Bran, Sesame, Sunflower, Walnut, Wheatgerm, Flaxseed, Hemp Seed, Jojoba, Kukui Nut, Macadamia Nut, Neem, Olive, Peach Kernel, Pumpkin Seed, Argan, Avocado, Borage, Castor, Coconut, Evening Primrose.

Problem & Sensitive Skin:  Calendula, Cherry Kernel, Apricot Kernel, Hazelnut, Kukui Nut, Moringa, Neem, Olive, Peach Kernel, Pumpkin Seed, Rice Bran, Rosehip, Saflower, Sweet Almond, Wheatgerm.

Enjoy your Saturday!

9 thoughts on “Like to Like: Home-made Oil Cleanser

  1. Pingback: How to Find Great Body Moisturizers

  2. I also started oil cleansing method and has been very pleased with results. My skin is sort of combination one, but using oils really don’t make it more oily. Skin is soft and smooth. I use castor oil mixed with sunflower, but want to try jojoba soon. Love rosehip too! What essential oil would you recommend to use with that mix?

    • I am glad you find this method useful for your skin :) Castor Oil is great as it draws out all the dirt and impurities. Rosehip Oil is fantastic, it’s so rich in fatty acids that are so useful to keep our skin healthy and moisturised. I use it in my mature skin creams. The essential oil of geranium would be great, it has a great balancing effect and is suitable for all types of skin. It has a flowery smell and I found that lots of people quite like it :)

Leave a Reply

