Recycling: Ice-Cream-Like Coffee Body Scrub

Do you have your favourite coffee/tea mug? I have one for coffee, one for English Breakfast tea, one for my white tea and one for my other loose herbal teas!

This is my favourite coffee mug. It has a huge sentimental value to it. I took it with me when I took off to the UK (for 3 months only originally). I love it because it has a little strawberry illustration inside the cup and my mum and I used to drink our morning coffee from similar mugs. So every time I drink from this mug it reminds me of home.

My Favourite Coffee Mug

What about body scrubs? Do you make your own or buy it? Which one is your favourite, oily or creamy?

This morning, as I was enjoying my morning coffee I though of what a waste it would be to throw away these lovely soaked and soft coffee grains. And so I recycled them into a creamy ice cream – like body scrub.

Here is how you can make it at home, it’s easy and quick!

 Morning Coffee Body Scrub

I used:

30g Shea Butter

15g Coconut Butter

a good spoon of  honey

2 tsp brewed coffee grains

 I chose to use Shea butter for my body scrub because of its highly moisturising properties. Shea butter absorbs quickly without leaving greasy residue, it moisturises & protects skin, doesn’t clog pores, it’s rich in vitamins A, E & F which are some essential vitamins needed for good skin health. Shea butter keeps the skin smooth and elastic. Need I say more?

I love everything coconut. Coconut ice cream is something I will always choose over other flavours! I use coconut butter for my hair and make little treats for my skin. Have you tried frying pancakes with coconut butter? No? Neither did I, but I’ll give it a go! Coconut butter is great for body scrubs, it has a low melting point, it starts melting as soon as you take it into your hands. Just rub a knob of this gorgeous butter between you palms, it will melt instantly. Apply it to your hair and you have a lovely hair mask! I can not begin to describe how beneficial this butter (and oil) is to our skin! It has excellent skin moisturising properties and is suitable for all types of skin. In terms of skin care,  it improves the skin condition of dry, flaky skin and makes it soft and glowing. This butter has antioxidant properties that prevents the degeneration of the skin. It delays the process of skin ageing, wrinkles and sagging skin. It’s believed that coconut butter can treat skin conditions such as eczema psoriasis, dermatitis, etc.

In a stainless steel bowl, mix the butters and immerse the bowl in a pan of hot water.  Heat it up slightly to soften the butters.

Take out the bowl from the saucepan and whisk the butters.

Give it a little rest if your hand gets tired.

Whisk the butters until the mixture gets light and fluffy and then add a generous spoon of honey!

I was inspired to add some honey to this body scrub by Marina’s tweet about the benefits of this product to our skin!

Continue whisking until the mixture becomes soft and creamy.

Fold in the coffee grains.

Coffee grains have great exfoliating qualities and soaked in sugary water or even better in honey water they become soft and skin friendly. The grains mixed with oils or butters are a great anti-cellulite treatment. The caffeine in the coffee grinds helps improve and promote circulation and rejuvenates the skin. Believe me, you haven’t felt your skin softer than after using a coffee grain scrub! Coffee grains are a great face exfoliator, but I wouldn’t recommend it for those with sensitive skin, the grains can be a bit too harsh for you!

Combine the mixture well.

Finally pour the mixture into a pot. Smell to me somewhat like Coffee Latte…

I didn’t add any other smells as coffee smell is something I really love. And it has that sweet smell of honey coming through… Oh I know, it’s like Caramel Macchiato!

Looks like ice cream!

The feeling is absolutely sensational! I know, it’s a bit messy so keep your white bath mats away, but it’s soooo worth getting the bath a little bit messy for this heavenly treat! Enjoy!

Make sure you treat your feet well with this scrub, it will leave them baby soft!

Be careful, this scrub, just like any other scrubs, may make your bath slippery!

11 thoughts on “Recycling: Ice-Cream-Like Coffee Body Scrub

    • I absolutely love coconut butter or oil, my hair shines today after using a simple coconut mask :) I’d love to add something like this to the skin care line :) maybe add a little bit of vanilla absolute and make it extra tasty :)

  1. Love the look of this scrub…I think it will be my next DIY project!…If you are interested am running a global beauty blog swap at the moment on my blog. Would love for you to check it out and sign up!

    • My pleasure, Cornelia, gad you liked the post :) Yes, definitely, try with espresso grains, the grinds will be smaller and gentler :) I buy my Shea butter from Aromantic, GraceFruit, Plush Folly, Baldwins :)

    • I don’t tend to keep these kind of treats for too long, I usually use them on the day I make them :) But it would keep in the fridge for a week or two. Honey is definitely a natural preservative and will help the product to stay fresh, but it will not protect the product from bacteria.

Leave a Reply

