Honey Roasted Vegetable Couscous

That’s what  ‘a cup of coffee’ invitation means in my house: when I just moved to Brockley and invited my friend K for a cup of coffee, she ended up helping us out to put together our wardrobe and staying for dinner, a drink and a chat until late… and also, from time to time she had to stay overnight because of my bottomless cups of coffee! Last weekend it was ‘a cup of coffee’ situation again! We had a lovely Saturday here in London and I was planning to go and visit my friend to the docklands, but she wanted to have a cycle and came over to my place, therefore we had some dinner and an apple crumble requested by C. By the time we have eaten, it was dark and late… So it never really is just a cup of coffee!

 Roasted Vegetable Couscous 

3 carrots

4 potatoes

1 red onion

4-5 mushrooms

2 cloves garlic

handful of garden peas (I used frozen)

1 can chickpeas

cured sausage (optional)

3 handfuls of couscous

3-4 tbsp clear honey

knob of butter

olive oil

salt

pepper

fresh lemon juice

Preheat the oven to 190 C. Peel and chop the carrots and potatoes. Boil them for 5-10 minutes. Chop the onion. Crush the garlic. Cube the sausage. I used the sausage just because I received a lovely delivery from my mum!

Drain the carrots and potatoes and shake them a little bit in a pot. Place them on a baking tray. Mix in the crushed garlic, chopped onion and mushrooms. Add salt, pepper and plenty of olive oil. Combine everything well. Drizzle the lemon juice and honey over the veggie mix, place the tray into the oven and bake for about 30 minutes mixing occasionally.

Boil the chickpeas for a few minutes, drain and mix them with the veggies. Add the sausage. I like adding meat at the end so it doesn’t get too hard.

At the meantime get the couscous ready. Place them into a deep bowl and cover them with boiling water, put the lid on and allow couscous to swell for about 5 minutes. Fluff up couscous with a fork and mix in a knob of butter.

When vegetables are nicely roasted and golden, add the peas and pop the tray back to the oven for a few minutes. Mix in the couscous, drizzle some more oil if needed and enjoy the simple yet lovely dish!

12 thoughts on “Honey Roasted Vegetable Couscous

    • You got me here :D Yes, I had a delicious cup of coffee on Saturday! I figured if I drink one, but a really good cup of coffee a week, it will only do me good! Like you say, good times! :D

      • You are right about enjoying coffee :) Last Saturday my friend and I enjoyed a lovely hazelnut cream latte, it was sweet like a dream :) I need to get some parlsey too!! :) I was recently drinking denadelion tea, it’s good for detox, the taste is ok, but it’s healthy :)

  1. Ahh! So sorry I’ve been away for so long. It’s time to catch up! And I can’t tell you how excited I am that the first post I’m reading is a healthy couscous recipe. I LOOOOVE couscous, and your recipe sounds divine. I’m definitely going to make some this week – it’s time to get bikini ready!

Leave a Reply

