Natural Mango & Lime Lip Balm

I really enjoy making lip balms, the difficult part is to decide on flavours. For my Christmas presents I chose Mango & Lime aroma, but there are so many other essential oils and aromas I want to try.

Mango & Lime Lip Balm 

This makes about 15 lip balms

21g beeswax

15g cocoa Butter

38ml Peach Kernel Oil

2ml/g  (40-50 drops) Mango & Lime Aroma

Before making my lip balms, I purchased some basic equipment such as scales, measuring cylinders, thermometer, different size beakers etc. That made my life easier, especially the scales!

Measure the beeswax and cocoa butter as accurately as possible on the scale. Then measure the oil. The measuring cylinder came handy in this case.

Add the beeswax, butter and the Peach kernel oil to the large bowl (I used stainless steel bowl) and immerse the bowl in a pot of hot water.

Stir it well until melted.

Once the mixture has melted, take it out of the hot water and add the Mango & Lime aroma. It’s handy to keep water in the pot boiling, so you can reheat the mixture if it gets thicker. And believe me it only takes seconds for it to thicken!

I used a small beaker for pouring my lip balm mixture into small cylinders. Be careful to not over-pour!  The mixture shrinks in the cylinders so you can top it up later.

Wait for a few minutes for the balms so settle. Reheat the lip balm mixture and top up the cylinders. Wait a few minutes and then put on the lids.

Lip balms need a few hours to settle before use. Place them in the fridge if you wish to harden them quicker.

A little tip:  when cleaning in the end, stand the steel bowl and beakers or any other dish used for melting the lip balm mixture upright in the boiling water in the pot and let the fats and oils melt inside the bowls. Then take them out and immediately dry them out with a paper tissue. Then wash them. This will prevent you clogging your sink!

14 thoughts on “Natural Mango & Lime Lip Balm

  1. WOW! This is so nice dear Kristina, can I make my own one too! I can’t believe, but the question should be like that, can I find all these things in here too… I should search. You aso nice, you share all details… I am sure your New Year Gifts will be the most beautiful ones… Thank you dearest, with my love, nia

    • Thank you Nia, you are always nice :) Yes you can try to make it and you can buy all of that stuff, but better use trustworthy companies for buying base oils and essential oils otherwise they might be out of their shelf life. I recommend adding a tiny bit of organic set honey instead of essential oil or aromas to start with, it gives balms a lovely texture ;)

    • You should go for it Dianda :) You can recalculate the quantity needed for less lip balms, only it’s tricky to measure accurately if just want one lip balm :) Unless you have a very large lip balm cylinder :D

  2. You never cease to amaze me with your homemade products!! :)
    I actually heard of these amazing natural oils (so natural that you can ingest drops of them) from an amazing and experienced doula in San Francisco. You can find them at YoungLiving.com (essential oil, aromatherapy and more). Just thought you’d enjoy hearing about them, I learned a bit about them and thought of you!

    • Thanks for that, I will check it out, sounds exciting already! :D I want to try so many things :D and make lots of natural skin care products, as soon as I start doing I am in a different world :)

    • Thanks David! I love all this natural stuff and you are right, the most important thing is the control over the products I want to include :) No chemicals in my production :D

  3. Thank you for sharing! I love making my own lip balms and I know how tough it is to choose a scent or flavour. This one sounds lovely!

  4. I know, I can never decide if certain flavours will be good enough for a lip balm :) My raspberry one smelled gorgeous while making my lip balm, but once the balm set, the scent was gone :( So I thought I need something overpowering :D

Leave a Reply

