Green and Red Pesto

I love pesto and like adding  it to my rice, pasta or spread it on a slice of nice and fresh bread. And just like this, one day, while enjoying my spaghetti with store-bought green pesto I though to myself why am I buying it? Why am I not making it myself?! So I decided to go for it, especially after reading about the lazy way of making pesto in one charming and captivating blog! Soon enough I had two jars of tasty and 100% home-made pesto sitting in my refrigerator.

Green Pesto 

a handful of fresh basil

50g pine nuts

30g grated Parmigiano cheese

less than 1/2 cup of lovely olive oil

I forgot to put a clove of garlic and salt, but it turned out extremely delicious anyway.

So, grind the pine nuts.

Shred the basil and mix it well with oil, ground nuts and Parmigiano cheese.

It seems to me that I have missed something… But no, it’s that simple and quick! You will make it in no time!

Red Pesto 

Process is the same as in making green pesto, just use sun-dried tomatoes instead of basil.

Blend all the ingredients well and enjoy the taste of lovely red pesto!

Sun-dried tomatoes soaked in oil and oregano will add a unique flavour to your dishes!

Bon Appétit!

6 thoughts on “Green and Red Pesto

  1. Oh mmmmmmmmmmmmm!!!! I will absolutely HAVE to give this a try! Thank you for the idea! I am also going to learn how to start making and preserving my own tomato sauce this summer since the tomatoes here are so delicious, I’ll let you know how it goes. :)

  2. Awww I love the smell of ripe and fresh tomatoes! Yummy :) Looking forward to your post! I’ll get some recipes from my mum on how to preserve vegetables for winter :)

Leave a Reply

