Tired Feet: Peppermint Ice Cubes

On one nice and sunny Sunday morning I was stood up by my friend (too much partying the night before) for our morning coffee meeting, hence I had to grind and make my own (not that I am complaining) coffee. And while drinking it at home not only had I plenty of time on my hands but also a head full of ‘icy’ ideas for tired feet.

Recently I received an email from my friend, who advised me to freeze peppermint because it keeps the smell and freshness when frozen. Peppermint ice cubes are perfect for flavoring teas, but I (of course) thought of other ways to use it. This frozen herb is ideal for refreshing and soothing tired feet!

The process is very simple. Crush some peppermint leaves, place them into ice moulds, fill them with water and place into the freezer. Simple as that! When the ice is frozen solid, make your foot bath.

Place handful of sea salt into the warm foot bath or pour a few drops of honey/oil. Scatter a few rose petals and finally add fresh and shiny peppermint ice cubes. Dip your tired feet into your home made foot bath and relax!

Use the remaining ice cubes for a cup of lovely tea and enjoy your little home heaven.

8 thoughts on “Tired Feet: Peppermint Ice Cubes

  1. Oooooh, I could use some of these right now. It is so hot here in Southern Spain, and feet are the first thing to get swollen! And a basin full of minty ice cubes to dip my toes in sounds DIVINE right now. :)

    By the way, once D-Man and I are done moving to our new home, I am going to find local organic fruits in order to make homemade face creams for the summer (preferably anti-wrinkle and purifying ones). Let me know if you have any ideas!! :) I’ve heard papaya – and of course aloe vera! – work well, but I’ll have to look into a few different recipes to see what would work well for my skin type. This is all new to me, so any help or advice would be tremendously appreciated! I’ll let you know how it goes ;)

  2. I got inspired now to try papaya face mask :) If you are going to use papaya for your cream and have some of the fruit left, try mixing it with honey and cream! This mixture is great for tired face skin and will refresh it well! Keep it on for about 10-15 minutes and then rinse it off with lukewarm water :) very summery :)

  3. Pingback: 7 Handy Helpers for Tired Feet | Care2 Healthy Living

  4. we are so on the same wavelength! I love this -is the water too cold for my feet or does it have a good effect? And you mention a papaya face mask too – I love papaya on my skin! I need to buy some as I ran out! I might just try this on a hot day adter hot yoga. Thank you!!

    • OH, good point, Marina! :) I forgot to mention that the water should be warm :) (I will edit the post) When you place the ice cubes into the warm foot bath, they dissolve releasing the lovely aroma of the fresh peppermint :) It’s a good way of preserving fresh herbs and rose petals :)
      I have some papaya at home, come over and we can have a face mask :)

Leave a Reply

